Recipe: Breakfast Bowl For Two!

Ever since my boyfriend and I moved in, I have been cooking like a maniac – which is interesting, considering I’m a baker, not a chef. I’m pretty much Episode 1 of My Drunk Kitchen Hannah Hart. I can follow directions and I know what I like.

Knowing what I like, however, is not always effective since I’m pretty much the only one in my little family who requires spicy food on the daily. So today I’m going to share with you guys my favorite breakfast to make when it’s just the two of us!

I need to preface this by saying this was my very first time making scrambled eggs, but I’m fairly certain I’m a pro now. One time and I’m an expert. Someone call Gordon Ramsay, I’m about to challenge a motherf-

So, let’s get to it!

I started with a snack I like to make when I’m hungry and added scrambled eggs. If you add eggs to anything, it’s immediately breakfast food. Except cake. That’s dessert.

I took 5 eggs and beat them until they were well blended and a pale yellow color. After that I added 1/4 cup of whole milk. This is important. This is what makes your eggs nice and fluffy! It’s completely up to you if you want to add a little salt and pepper, but I passed since I added a bit of seasoning to the second part of our breakfast bowl.

Ron Swanson speaks the truth about breakfast

Before we put the eggs in the pan, I like to use a very small amount of canola oil. Too small for any measuring tools to be used! What can I say, I like to break all the rules in the kitchen.

After the oil has heated in the pan, I add the eggs and let the edges solidify before the fun begins. When the edges have started to solidify is when you can move the spatula around and get that real scrambled consistency. When it’s no longer runny, put the eggs in their respective bowls!

In a separate pan, fry up 6 oz. of diced potatoes until they’re a shade of golden perfection. Then we add the DRAINED black beans – honestly, you don’t want the mucky black bean juice in your mixture, it messes with the texture of your taters!

Not long now, but before your beans and potatoes get all hot and delicious, add a couple spices. For me, I add a bit of kosher salt and some cayenne for a little kick. It’s up to you if you want to add something else like a little garlic or onion seasoning – who knows, maybe you have a little bit of ground ghost pepper? Use your imagination and as long as your butt can handle a little spice, go for it!

Now you’re ready to split the mixture into the bowls already containing your fluffy scrambled eggs. But why stop there? Add a little sour cream or shredded cheese atop your bowl. I like to add a little sriracha to… well, everything. It’s like the ketchup of hot sauces.

Calories per bowl: 339.5
Carbohydrates: 29g
Protein: 24.5g
Fat: 12.8g

 

Of course, for those who prefer to skip all the way down to the ingredients list and directions, here we go:

5 Whole Eggs
1 can of Black Beans
6 oz Diced Potatoes
1/4 cup Whole Milk

Optional (calories aren’t accounted for):
Shredded cheese
Sour cream
Cayenne
Onion powder
Garlic seasoning
Salt & Pepper
Salsa
Hot sauce
Your imagination

Directions:

  1. Whisk your eggs until pale yellow. Add in milk.
  2. Pour eggs onto heated frying pan until edges are solid, then use spatula or similar utensil to “scramble” until the eggs are no longer runny.
  3. Separate eggs into two bowls.
  4. Pour 6 oz of diced potatoes into pan until golden brown. Add in drained can of black beans. Add in optional seasonings to flavor.
  5. Separate into bowls with eggs in them. Top with optional suggestions above.
  6. ENJOY!

If you enjoyed this recipe, go ahead and share it with your friends. Follow me for more of these recipes and my other shenanigans, and feel free to leave me a comment!

Awkward gratuitous selfie!

Interested in my zombie bowl? I got it here and I’ve had it for over a year now; no chips in the ceramic, dishwasher safe, and obviously a must for parents who feel like zombies. I like to post a pic with it on Zombie Sundays. Have a great day everyone!

Leave a Reply

